Summer

20110611-054813.jpg

Sorry for the false start, folks. I was testing out the WordPress app for iPhone and prematurely published.

This is still a test, really, I have nothing on my mind today. That’s because I spent the afternoon doing absolutely nothing. And it was great.

I’m not very good at loafing. Most of my down time is spent thinking of things I ought to be doing, like cleaning the house, laundry, exercise, blogging, that kind of thing. Instead, today when I found myself with not much to do, I spent it with my new niece.

I hung out on my sister’s deck for hours, just snuggling the little peanut, remembering the days when the biggest problem was which boob was more likely to leak the next time they cried. Much simpler than nowadays, when someone else’s hormones rule my world (and no, I am not talking about my husband’s). The subject (and object) of much angst is pictured above, mere hours after the meltdown that apparently foretold the end of the world (incorrectly, once again). You would never know.

Man, I love summer. We sat outside, drinking iced tea and seeking shade, introducing the teeny tiny to flowers and birds and bugs. Of course, she slept through everything, including a dozen or so jets that flew immediately overhead, but it was ok since I like to hear myself talk almost as much as I like summer.

Hence the blog. Fresh air and high temperatures brew good stories. I guess it’s a bit of a misnomer to say I did nothing today… I moodled my niece, wrested with my parenting insecurities, and rolled some Violet stories around in my head. Stay tuned.

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

