Summer

I’m sorry for my absence this week. I spent the first part of it in Chicago for work, which was good – I’d never really been to Chicago, and not only was it a productive work week, it’s a very nice city, from what I saw. The trip also served the purpose of reminding me of many of the reasons why I do not want to live in a huge city. But I did buy giant chocolate bars at the Hershey store on the Magnificent Mile, and ate at the Cheesecake Factory, and would go back for a visit in a moment.

The rest of the week has been a weather orgy. This, right here, right now, is why I put up with -40C in the winter. It has been +25 to +30C, with sun, reasonable humidity, and a light breeze to keep the mosquitoes away. Friday, we celebrated Canada Day with the Sixth Annual Fieldstone Bay Canada Day Street Hockey Classic. Jack has been organizing these since he was 5, and done a darn good job of it. This year, we had about 16 kids at one point, plus many dads playing hockey. Many others spectated (is that a word?) from the lawn. He got another perfect day for it, and they played for hours, with barely a water break.

Yesterday, we spent yet another perfect afternoon at a cabin belonging to some very good friends. As always, there was good food, good company, and perfect weather. Trevor and I came home to deal with the livestock, but the kids were invited to stay, so we had a peaceful ride home and a quiet night.

Today looks a little more overcast, but still not -40C, so I’m ok with it. My Birthday Week (more on the demise of my thirties another time) will also kick into full swing as well, so I will make the best of it in any case.

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

