Happenings

Hello all. I felt compelled to explain my relative scarcity on the interwebs recently.

Firstly, for those of you who find me via Facebook, their new (ahem – craptastic) update means my postings do not automatically show up there. I will try to remember to post a link manually, but considering my usual state of mind, it might be best if you just subscribe (see button on the right hand side, the one that says “sign me up!”). Alternatively, you can follow me on Twitter – @jdunsford. I should probably change that to something more clever. Suggestions welcome.

My second excuse for the infrequent postings is that I have been working on something I am planning to submit to the CBC Canada Writes short story contest. And it’s really hard. My story is apparently not done gestating. It’s due October 31, though, and since I am one of those people who is (obsessed?) compelled to beat deadlines by weeks, I already feel overdue (to continue the birth analogy… I expect the process to be bloody and violent so it all kind of fits. I may need an episiotomy. Every contraction has so far been false labour. OK, I’m done now). But I am hoping for inspiration at Choir Camp, which brings me to…

Excuse 3. I am going to Camp Arnes with the kids for the next 3 days as a chaperone for their school division choir. Trevor, the lucky (smart) bugger will be home with only three dogs and five cats for company. If I were him, I would put the beer fridge next to my desk and train the dog to fetch the pizza delivery. Instead, I will be roughing it in the bush. Well, sort of. Apparently they have a chlorinated water system this year! Good times!

Camp-wise, the music will be beautiful, the weather should be ok, and the kids will have fun. But since there is neither cell service nor wifi out there, I will be off the grid (I know! I’m getting hives just thinking about it!). It is my fervent wish to get through the next three days without any trips to Emergency. That will be my measure of success.  I am bringing the iPad though, just in case an inspiration strikes during the fifteen minutes per day I will not be directly responsible for other peoples’ teenagers. Yes, pen and paper would work just as well, but a little electronic fix will help the fever, and Angry Birds will help me work off the frustrations. I will be available Friday immediately after Happy Hour to pick up my Mother of the Year award.

Now my final excuse is a biggie, and may well backfire on me, but here goes. I have signed up for NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month, which takes place in November. It’s an annual event wherein writers attempt to write an entire novel (50,000 words) in 30 days. During the month of October I will prepare for it by outlining my story and developing my characters, then November first, I will attempt a novel. We’ll see what happens. I tried once and failed, but I have been talking and fantasizing about writing so much lately, that it’s time to put my money where my mouth is and just write. I expect it will be a terrible novel, but I hope it is a fun experience. Now that you know, I am officially obligated. Kind of like telling everyone you are quitting smoking or losing weight, so that you are shamed into sticking with it longer than if you’d done it in secret. Feel free to cheer, and send pizza. Or liquor. My new favourite quote is Hemingway: “Write drunk. Edit sober.” November will probably be tough on my liver.

SO, there you go. For my loyal fans, I thank you for sticking with me. I promise you I am writing and that someday, you will read what I have written, if you care to wait that long. If anyone would be willing to act as reviewer for any of the above, feel free to let me know.

Oh, and also, it’s hockey season, and I have a team this year, so that takes up the occasional evening.

Oh and also, it’s football season and I’m back on the Bombers bandwagon since they suck less this year.

I’ll write soon!

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happenings

  1. Tammie Lang says:

    I would love to act as a reviewer if you like!

  2. Ellen says:

    Looking forward to seeing lots of writing in the weeks ahead! Good luck with all of it – I’m half jealous and half relieved it isn’t me! At the end of November, the relief will be gone and only jealously will remain. You’re an awesome writer; you can do it!!

Leave a Reply

