Triumph

Well, I’m back!

I’ve missed you! And apparently some of you have missed me too, which is very flattering, to say the least.

I thought I should share what I have been spending my time on for the last month – but since it’s not fit for human consumption, I will only tell you about it. I completed the NaNoWriMo challenge by writing a 50,000-word novel in one month. I am triumphant!

Here is my prize:

Ain’t it purty?

I’m thinking of framing it and hanging it next to my Master’s degree. Or maybe beside the pictures of my newborn children. The process did bear a remarkable resemblance to labour, only without the awesome drugs. Or the stretch marks.

Before you get all excited though, you should know that the novel is really, truly awful. But I had so much fun doing it that it was worth the time, although my family might disagree with that. Trevor gave me a present as soon as I finished – a book on grammar, clever man – with a card congratulating me and suggesting that now I might stop neglecting my family. For the record, I never missed a run, a day of work, a hockey game or a piano lesson in order to write. I’m not sure where the time came from, but it might explain the shocking amount of grunge in the shower and the mountain of clean but unfolded laundry in the rec room. It has nothing, however, to do with the fact that the dog has gained about 15 pounds. I blame that entirely on winter.

What I did get was a month’s worth of really good writing practice, which I will certainly put toward blogs and short stories. Fortunately for you, dear readers (if unfortunately for the story) I have continued to brew ideas for more. I plan for them to see the light of day soon. Maybe I’ll even produce a Great Canadian Novel someday.

And sometime, when I am no longer so freaking sick of it that I hate my characters, I will edit the snot out of the novel, and be left with something (arguably) worth reading.

But now, I need to go and catch up on a month’s worth of brainless television programming, which should take about fifteen minutes. I suppose I should also think about Christmas shopping… maybe some sleep…

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Triumph

  1. Ellen says:

    I know this comment is very late, but I just want to say how impressed I am. That’s an amazing accomplishment – you should be very proud! Looking forward to reading more of your writing and hopefully someday the book as well!

Leave a Reply

