Then

 

 

Well whaddya know.. it still fits. Fifteen years and two kids later. I was a different person back then…

The gang mocked me quite mercilessly for trying it on. I do wish they didn’t take quite so much delight in their derision. It’s their fault that the top of the dress isn’t quite so, shall we say, filled out as it used to be. They should be grateful and reverent. But they aren’t, really.

I have been thinking about my new hero’s Traveling Red Dress project lately (click on that link and read all about Jenny Lawson. She is living my dream. Go ahead, I’ll wait. It’s worth it.)  and considering finding my own red dress. I thought maybe it would help me cope with that seasonal restlessness that annually causes me to consider doing things I really shouldn’t do. Things like smoking, or applying for new jobs, or bidding on real estate. Unfortunately, the wedding dress didn’t do the trick. Maybe I should dye it red. Or sell it and buy a red dress. And wear the hell out of that one.

I would like to think I am a different person now than I was then, but I’m probably less different than I care to admit. As good as my life has been since I first wore the hell out of that wedding dress, there are some days, maybe even some minutes of every day, that I really want to be someone else. Just for a while.

I think I want to sell the wedding dress. The wedding was fun. I have no regrets about it. But the dress, the wedding, isn’t the marriage. The marriage has been (and still is) a great adventure. The dress holds no particular sentimental attachment for me (and it takes up a lot of valuable closet real estate). Think anyone would be interested in a mid-90s puffy-sleeved beaded silk meringue? Or do I need to wait another 5 or 10 years until that comes back into fashion? I can bide my time, if necessary…

And in the meantime, apparently I can pull it out every once in a while, just to remind myself that I still bear some passing resemblance to that girl.

 

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Then

  1. Harjeet says:

    Made good reading, this one, as usual. Yours remains a beautiful dress and you definitely seem to have grown prettier since.
    Set me thinking about my red wedding dress, you know, closet space and all…

Leave a Reply

