Twenty

See – I’ve totally lost count of the days now. The number is increasing exponentially. I suspect brain damage from inhaled drywall dust.

This is the start of week three, so maybe it’s only Day 14, I really have no idea.

The reason I haven’t written for a few days is that we took the weekend and went to Fargo because Jack was playing in a hockey tournament. I don’t generally advertise planned absences ahead of time, especially when the dog won’t be home. The overwhelming odds are that no one would a) notice or b) care, but if anything happened, the blame would fall squarely on my shoulders. And by “fall”, I mean “reminded every day for the rest of my life”.

I was hoping the floors would be done by the time we got back, just to save us from having to vacate again for that process, but it didn’t quite work out that way. Still, everything is still more or less on track. All the plumbing, wiring, drywall, taping and mudding are done. The walls are primed and some are painted. The stairs have been stripped and all the vertical parts painted. Most of the flooring has arrived. It is actually coming together quite well.

Hopefully this week we’ll see paint, floors, and maybe by the end of next week, it will be ready for cabinets.

Three days of forced absence has helped with the cooking situation – the freezer meals are holding and the meal plan for the rest of the week does not include a single restaurant. And, the best news is that thanks to Trevor’s generous donation of his alcohol exemption, I brought back 7 – count ’em – 7 different kinds of India Pale Ale from the USA. And the best part is that no on else in the world likes them, so they are mine! All mine!

Here is today’s progress photo:

Kitchen-Jan21-08

As I understand it, tomorrow’s task is to tame the drywall dust once and for all. Until then…

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

