Complete

It’s all done. No more “except this” or “except that”. It’s all finished.

Remember the before?

Kitchen-4

North-east, looking at the back door

Kitchen-6

West wall

Kitchen-3

East wall

Kitchen-2

South, looking into dining room

And now…

Kitchen-Feb21-03

West wall

Kitchen-Feb21-06

Looking east/south

Kitchen-Feb21-07

Looking south into dining room

Kitchen-Feb21-09

Looking North

This kitchen also makes really good food, which is good, because we won’t be able to afford to eat out for the next ten years. I am currently roasting a bunch of vegetables for my lunches this week. The house no longer smells like drywall dust or paint, just good delicious things to eat.

It accommodates a lot of people, too, which is exactly what we were hoping. The old kitchen was not a gathering place. I can see spending most of our main-floor time there now.

The whole process was surprisingly less stressful than I expected. I expect that the main reason for that is the fact that Trevor dealt with the noise, mess and people all the time while I trotted happily off to work. It meant I was essentially insulated from the whole thing. The only time it intruded into how I would normally run my life is the day the stairs were being refinished and I had to use the ladder. Otherwise, the construction was a minor inconvenience. Also, the temporary kitchen left us with running water and the opportunity to wash dishes without carting them upstairs to the only bathtub in the house.

It also helped that we had a great contractor that kept everything on track. Everything was done exactly as he predicted. Although the flooring was late, it turned out to work better that way. Interestingly, the only things that were a real problem were the appliances, which Trevor and I were responsible for (I will post my rant about Stalwart Appliances once we have received the last piece of our order, which is currently three weeks late). Anything else that went wrong was not our problem and was fixed promptly. If you need a contractor, let me know, I have a recommendation for you.

So even though we will not be able to winter in Mexico for the foreseeable future, I would say, from my perspective at this moment, it was totally worth it.

And now, we’re ready to receive guests. Come on over! We have a stool at the counter with your name on it!

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Complete

  1. David Kelly says:

    Congrats! Your home looks great.

  2. Jeff says:

    Very nice.

Leave a Reply

