Lessons

HockeyMar02-01

I have great kids. I have always thought so, but today, I saw more proof.

Jack’s hockey team had a do-or-die playoff game. A win meant another game, a loss meant a very good season was over. They played really well, too.

Well, the team played well. Jack, unfortunately, took a minor penalty in the first period, and, for some inexplicable reason, the ref gave him a game misconduct and threw him out. No one, Jack included, was quite sure why. Jack was upset, but changed out of his gear and watched the rest of the game from the other side of the boards.

His team tied the game in a very exciting second period, but a couple snuck past in the third, and lost, ending their season.

It may have helped that after the game, the ref apologized to the coach for a mistaken call (good for that ref – that must have been tough to do), but Jack still didn’t get to finish the last game of the year with his team. I would have thought it would be a bitter ending. And yes, after the game, Jack was upset, a little bummed that they were out of the playoffs, and disappointed about the bad call, but he handled the whole thing really well. In fact, by the time he got home, it was like nothing had happened. Within fifteen minutes, he was playing ping pong and laughing like a maniac.

I am pretty proud of him on this one. He let a crappy situation just roll off, and still had a pretty good day. He didn’t let it get him down. He might even have learned something from it. I hope that skill continues to serve him well, because there will be times in his life when he will need to call on it.

He taught me something, too. It’s an odd reversal of the usual parent-child relationship, but in the future, I am going to try to remember how he handled himself whenever something rotten happens, and let it roll off me. Or I’ll go play ping pong, because that’s usually good for a few cathartic laughs.

In any case, Jack quickly got over his disappointment, I got more proof that I’m raising great children, and overall, it turned out to be a pretty good day.

About therapeuticrambling

I am a wife, a mom, a nurse, a writer. I enjoy laughing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons

  1. Mary Clerihew says:

    Yay Jack! Yay you!

  2. Ellen says:

    Wow, Jack’s attitude is amazing. Handling a huge disappointment like that is indeed a skill/personality trait I wish we all had.

    Also, your kitchen is STUNNING! I seriously want to come sit on a stool and see it in person. Just tell me when!

Leave a Reply

